How My Blog Is Going To Be Organized

When I read a blog, I like to know how it is set up. Today is DAY 3 of the Blog Challenge and the topic is my objectives for building a successful business. Well one way I want to build a good blog.  Also, the writer/teacher/scrap-booker in me likes organization. If you came over to my house, you would soon discover the only place I’ve ever been organized is in my classroom (and my scrapbooks!) I taught kindergarten and first grade to a special needs class of emotional and behaviorally disabled students for six years. The best thing I liked about my classroom was when other people, like substitutes, came in they were always surprised that my class was” labeled” ED (Emotionally Disabled.)

Why? Because from how my students behaved, (some/most days) most people wouldn’t know that any of them carried a label. One of the reasons was because of the way the class was organized. Not how tidy it was, but the fact that my babies knew what was going to be happening and when it would happen. It was scheduled.

I want to be successful with my blog (which means that others can learn something from it and I continue it) so I need a schedule!

My goal is to post at least twice a week. Mondays and Thursdays.  Why those two days, I don’t have a clear answer but it worked with my alliteration (you’ll see in a sec.) On Motivational Mondays my blog post will focus on encouraging myself and others to crochet something that week. Teaching Thursdays will focus on sharing what (if any) knowledge I have with you. I wrote out some sample tags for my post. Organization rocks!

Monday Motivations

–          Dorcus Donations- Quick, cheap projects and good works you might be interested in.

–          Crochet Devotionals- Ways to stay close to God while crafting (or just living)

–          Random Musings- Topics that don’t fit anywhere else.

Thursday Teachings

–          How I do it- A series taking you behind the scenes of Milah’s Handcrafts.

–          Learn Something New- New skills, or facts I’ll share as I learn them.

–          Reviews- As I travel the internet, my thoughts on websites, helpful blogs, books ECT.

There you go, you know where I’m going and I know where I’m going. All I have to do is to get there!!

2 posts a week. 8 posts a month. 96 post in a year. My goal and my challenge!

Any and all encouragement would be so very appreciated. What about you? How do you plan to get where you want to go in 2013?

M

Aside

11 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Momwithahook- Sara
    Jan 03, 2013 @ 16:41:07

    Michelle, great direction for your blog. I’d set up analytics for your blog so you can track what your readers are interested in. This way you can write more of what they want in the future. (2014)

    I love the Crochet Devotionals idea. I know that is one of my goals for this year – to keep God in my business. I start out fine but by the time the end of the year rolls in I’m totally packed him away. I have PS 1:1-4 on the back of my vision board and keep it in view as I work throughout the day. I’m hoping this works.

    Looking forward to watching you grow in 2013.

    Reply

  2. Sara - momwithahook (@momwithahook)
    Jan 03, 2013 @ 16:41:56

    Michelle, great direction for your blog. I’d set up analytics for your blog so you can track what your readers are interested in. This way you can write more of what they want in the future. (2014)

    I love the Crochet Devotionals idea. I know that is one of my goals for this year – to keep God in my business. I start out fine but by the time the end of the year rolls in I’m totally packed him away. I have PS 1:1-4 on the back of my vision board and keep it in view as I work throughout the day. I’m hoping this works.

    Looking forward to watching you grow in 2013.

    Reply

  3. ZaMarah
    Jan 03, 2013 @ 18:54:20

    Hey Michelle,
    As promised I stopped in for a daily dose!!
    Love the organization idea!! You’re right organization rocks!!
    And I especially like the crochet devotionals!!
    Keep up the good work…

    Reply

  4. Patrice
    Jan 04, 2013 @ 21:55:40

    Your background as a teacher is really coming in handy as you go about setting up your blog. Looking forward to seeing how it all unfolds

    Reply

  5. Trackback: Day 8 of Blog Challenge « Milah's handcrafts

Leave a Reply

Diary of a MadMama

Refashioning a Method to the Madness of Life

ReFashionista

Creating now.

Terras Kreativecke

Alles selbstgemacht

Family Bugs Blogging

How To Sell Crochet and Other Crafts

crochetandyarn

For hook and fibre lovers

Designs by Hebrew Hands

Crochet Blog, Techniques and Tutorials

Kittens with Mittens

Just another WordPress.com site

Canaconda Tales

Named in honor of the "Canacondas" from my five year old's imaginations this is a place to tell the tales of our life

