Aimimg for my Target

Happy Saturday!
Day 5 of the 31 day Blogging Challenge issued by Sara over on Crochet Business.com. Today’s topic is about who my target customer and my target audience for my blog. Awesome topic! How else can you hit a target if you don’t know what it looks like?

Many, many years ago when I was a little girl, the comedian Eddie Murphy had a stand up movie entitled Raw. Okay, totally don’t recommend you watching it unless you have a filter that can bleep out of the bad language he used.
Anyway, one of his sketches was about when he was little his mother told him she could make a hamburger better than McDonalds. “Better than McDonalds,” the young Eddie said. And prepared himself for his treat. Well, her home made “welfare burger” was a thick juicy burger with big chunks of green peppers and onions in it. Now to me now, that sounds scrumptious. But to the young Eddie and a Young Michelle homemade was not as good as store bought. And when poor little Eddie went outside all of his friends joked on his “welfare burger.”
Perspectives as well as people change. I mean, who would have thought the guy who spewed all that flith-flarn-flarn-flith would be the same sweet Donkey from Shrek? Not, I said the cow. Moo. Nor would I have thought homemade, handmade would of such value.
My ideal customer is someone who can appreciate that mass produced, machine perfect cookie cutter items are not the end all be all. They want a quality handmade item that was made not only for them but with them in mind while it was being created and constructed. Someone who likes the fact that they won’t see a gazillion of their blanket or hat or bag around. Someone like me.
Now my ideal reader, I think, is a DIYer: someone who wants to learn new things and pick up new skills and loves to share their knowledge with others and gain knowledge in exchange; a crafter who wants to go behind the scenes to see how a designer completes a project from start to finish. Someone like me.
If you are a customer, please look around. You might see me talking about your project a little. You might also be able to pick up a few skills that will help you complete the pattern that you bought. Or be able to ask me a question if you’ve gotten stuck. If you’re a crocheter, I hope something I post might help you along your journey as others have help me.
Come one, come all. There’s room for us all.
M.

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. ZaMarah
    Jan 06, 2013 @ 02:00:37

    Hey Michelle,
    I see we’re on the same page again!! Well at least on the ideal customer. I didn’t think about my blogger audience so much { sad face }, but after coming over and reading. I realize that I should have included something about her too!! The benefit of reading other blogs!!
    Until tomorrow…
    Be Blessed!

    Reply

  2. Momwithahook- Sara
    Jan 09, 2013 @ 15:06:41

    love your welfare burger and Mcdonalds analogy. I actually prefer the ‘welfare burger’. You definitely know your target audience and they will appreciate your thoughtfulness in considering them in your creation process.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Diary of a MadMama

Refashioning a Method to the Madness of Life

ReFashionista

Creating now.

Terras Kreativecke

Alles selbstgemacht

Family Bugs Blogging

How To Sell Crochet and Other Crafts

crochetandyarn

For hook and fibre lovers

Designs by Hebrew Hands

Crochet Blog, Techniques and Tutorials

Kittens with Mittens

Just another WordPress.com site

Canaconda Tales

Named in honor of the "Canacondas" from my five year old's imaginations this is a place to tell the tales of our life

