WIP Wednesday

Today’s Blog Challenge we are to discuss our blog calendars. I would love to begin offering interviews and guest bloggers (any volunteers?) as well as doing challenges? What do you like seeing on your favorite blogs?

I love seeing what others are working on so here goes my first WIP Wednesday.

I’m not a big sports fan but I had an idea about sport team themed blankets. So when I was chatting up a potential customer about creating a baby blanket for her, her co-worker asked what else I did. I told him about my idea and he was excited! Enter my Michigan Blanket.

GE DIGITAL CAMERA

I started Sunday. I’m using Red Heart Bright Yellow and Caron Midnight Blue. It’s been a challenge to carry the yarn without the blue showing through the yellow. I had read about using bobbins, but that seemed a bit difficult so I made yarn-carry-all (for lack of a better name.) Would you like to see a tutorial about making these?

GE DIGITAL CAMERA

I’m about a third of the way through. I’m working off of a plan and a pattern that I created.

GE DIGITAL CAMERA

So what’s on your hooks? I’d love to see it!
M

11 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Momwithahook- Sara
    Jan 09, 2013 @ 14:42:40

    Color work has always been a challenge for me. I should challenge myself to try it more. Your sketch is a great plan and you seem to be working it up nicely. I love all your little match calculations and ‘ideas’ on the side notes – I can actually understand what you’re doing. Sometimes my notes seem like gibberish after I complete something and look back on them.
    I love seeing wip and completed objects. Another thing I enjoy doing is crochet-a-longs. It’s a nice way to get to know other crochet bloggers.

    Reply

  2. milahshandcrafts
    Jan 09, 2013 @ 17:55:34

    I’ve never done a crochet-a-long but I’d like to try one soon! I’m glad it looks like I knew what I was doing, I got a headache trying to figure it all out, lol

    Reply

  3. Heather
    Jan 09, 2013 @ 18:18:29

    It’s looking really good Milah. Thanks for the awesome comment on my blog. I’ll be adding your’s to my reading list 😀

    Reply

  4. ZaMarah
    Jan 09, 2013 @ 19:16:18

    I tell you sister, we have a whole lot in common, I actually keep my yarn in a zip log bag too!! I use the 2.5 gal bags!! LOL
    I didn’t post any pics of whats on my hook today, I had to do some research, and totally forgot to include pictures!! But it’s looking good!!
    Keep up the hard work, It will pay off for you!!

    Reply

  5. milahshandcrafts
    Jan 09, 2013 @ 20:11:46

    @ Heather, Thanks and thanks for stopping by!
    @ZaMarah, we’re going to have start calling each other Twinsies! Thanks, it was getting so hard to carry yarn and hot get it all twisty. Simple, cheap and easy solution!

    Reply

  6. Becky
    Jan 09, 2013 @ 22:45:05

    That is looking really good. It made me chuckle to see your zip lock bad and scribbled on graph paper. Add paper clips that have been bent all up and it would look like the scene on my couch last time I did color work. It will look great when you are done!

    Reply

  7. milahshandcrafts
    Jan 09, 2013 @ 23:35:05

    Hey Becky, Thanks for stopping by. I save my paper clips for my amigurumi, lol.

    Reply

  8. crochetinspired
    Jan 10, 2013 @ 02:29:42

    Wow, glad I just found you on Hookey! I’m looking at starting a similar project, only it’s a wedding afghan, and I would LOVE to hear everything and anything you have learned doing this one. YES, I would love to see a tutorial on how to make a yarn carry-all. And…I’ve got something for you too! Check out this post from my blog..you’ve really got to see this info about creating your own charted patterns.

    http://asktracyann.crochethappy.com/2013/01/can-i-chart-it-yes-i-can.html

    I would really like to “hook” up with you over yarn and patterns and such…you can email me at tracy@crochethappy.com or on Ravelry http://www.ravelry.com/people/tracyann3369

    Reply

  9. milahshandcrafts
    Jan 10, 2013 @ 03:12:08

    Thanks, Tracy! That was a great site you recommended. I tried another site and it didn’t work as well as Knitpro! I’m posting my first This IS How I Do It tomorrow. So I hope I can help.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Diary of a MadMama

Refashioning a Method to the Madness of Life

ReFashionista

Creating now.

Terras Kreativecke

Alles selbstgemacht

Family Bugs Blogging

How To Sell Crochet and Other Crafts

crochetandyarn

For hook and fibre lovers

Designs by Hebrew Hands

Crochet Blog, Techniques and Tutorials

Kittens with Mittens

Just another WordPress.com site

Canaconda Tales

Named in honor of the "Canacondas" from my five year old's imaginations this is a place to tell the tales of our life

