Day 10 of the Blog Challenge- What a Girl Wants, What a girl needs…

This song is playing through my head. Why? Because today’s challenge of the 31 days is all about finding out what my readers want to read about. Sounds simple, right? Not. I even ran away and worked on my first tutorial (which one of my readers requested- doesn’t that count?)

I must face my fears. I think polling my readers will be a very helpful tool, but I think I’m too small right now for a formal (and scary, to me) polling software or such.
So, I’m going to ask for some help. What would you ask your readers? What facts about them would help you tailor your posts to things of interest? What do you find most helpful in a crocheting website?

7 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Momwithahook- Sara
    Jan 11, 2013 @ 06:41:26

    I think after you’ve been blogging for a couple of months you could ask your readers in a quick poll what type of posts are their favorites. i.e. how to posts, tutorials, devotions, etc.. Based on this information you can then make more of the posts that your readers liked.
    Currently I enjoy your devotions the most and I think it’s because it’s a different sort of crochet blog post.

    Btw, Michelle, you won the giveaway last week (blog) of the Hooking for Cash ebook. Just email with your email so I can send you the book. 🙂

    Reply

  2. rhelena
    Jan 11, 2013 @ 20:40:34

    I feel the same way about designing something for a request. For me the inspiration just isn’t there and it feels like it is so much more work. At the same time, I have found that the patterns I designed by request are bringing in a fair amount of traffic, which totally makes it worth it!

    And congrats on winning the ebook!

    Reply

    • milahshandcrafts
      Jan 11, 2013 @ 21:14:16

      Thanks, I never win anything!!! It’s hard right now because I’m working on a project that someone requested and had an idea of what they want. I’m going to make it work, but I like having some say in what the product will look like. I think it’s neat doing patterns by request!

      Reply

    • Momwithahook- Sara
      Jan 13, 2013 @ 02:39:34

      Rhelena, that was true when I did sell patterns but I designed for such little cost ($5) that it wasn’t worth it for me. I wouldn’t even have designed half the stuff I did if it wasn’t for this particular client – so I guess it can be a good thing to get requests.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Diary of a MadMama

Refashioning a Method to the Madness of Life

ReFashionista

Creating now.

Terras Kreativecke

Alles selbstgemacht

Family Bugs Blogging

How To Sell Crochet and Other Crafts

crochetandyarn

For hook and fibre lovers

Designs by Hebrew Hands

Crochet Blog, Techniques and Tutorials

Kittens with Mittens

Just another WordPress.com site

Canaconda Tales

Named in honor of the "Canacondas" from my five year old's imaginations this is a place to tell the tales of our life

