Crochet Devo #3 Best Laid Plans

crochet devoBest laid plans of mice and men…

Saturday was my day to get my hair done. Lol, no not a particular earth shattering experience and not very uncommon to most women, but it leads me into my devo, so just go with me for a second.

I have Sisterlocs, not an advertisement or endorsement, but you have to understand what they are to appreciate my story. Basically they are tiny dreadlocks that when I get them re-done, it takes anywhere from four to six hours sitting in a chair! Yes, that’s right. So with so much time on my hands I knew I was going to be able to knock out some of my new Michigan Throw.

I had to be at my hairdresser’s (for lack of a better word) house at 7 am on a Saturday morning. EEK! But I was looking forward to starting my blanket. I even stopped at 2 Wal-marts to try to find the right shade of yellow for the “M.” I drove all the way there and THEN realized that I had left the other yarn at home and worse yet, I’d even left my crochet hook home as well. I was fit to be tied, as my grandmother used to say.

With a long six and a half-hour day looming before me I had no idea what I was going to do to fill the time. Well, I had already drawn out the sketch so I actually got to write out the pattern. (I’ll talk more about this is a “How I do it” another time.

In Psalm 27, David asks God to teach him the ways of the Lord. In verse 14 it states: “Wait on the Lord; be of good courage, And He shall strengthen your heart; Wait, I say, on the Lord!” I don’t know about you, but so many times I have plans. I have ideas of how things should go and I get so upset when they don’t go the way I had expected.
But today I remembered that I need to do as God, through David, instructed and to remember to wait on the Lord. Good will always comes from relying not on my plans or ideas, but on God’s.

So when we can’t get the amount of crocheting (or anything) done we wanted or the stitch pattern isn’t coming out right, be of good courage and God will strength our hearts.

Has crocheting ever helped you to learn a lesson?

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. ZaMarah
    Jan 21, 2013 @ 14:45:51

    Crochet has definitely taught me more patience!
    As a parent of a child with a special need, you learn patience. And crochet teaches you even more patience, you can’t hurry a project as bad as you may want to. Rushed projects show the results in the end~
    Z.

    Reply

  2. Sara - momwithahook (@momwithahook)
    Jan 22, 2013 @ 16:34:16

    I agree with ZaMarah, patience is definitely something crochet has taught me. It has also helped me with perfectionism. Normally if I can’t do something ‘perfectly’ I’ll not do it. With crochet, I’ve had to learn to unravel what doesn’t work, and keep trying.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Diary of a MadMama

Refashioning a Method to the Madness of Life

ReFashionista

Creating now.

Terras Kreativecke

Alles selbstgemacht

Family Bugs Blogging

How To Sell Crochet and Other Crafts

crochetandyarn

For hook and fibre lovers

Designs by Hebrew Hands

Crochet Blog, Techniques and Tutorials

Kittens with Mittens

Just another WordPress.com site

Canaconda Tales

Named in honor of the "Canacondas" from my five year old's imaginations this is a place to tell the tales of our life

