Tabitha Tuesdays- Crochet for Charity

Logo_Horizontal_Warming Hearts and Heads (2)Tabitha, also known as Dorcus, is written of in the Bible in Acts 9:36-41. She was a disciple “full of good works and charitable deeds.” (Acts 9:36) When the Apostle Peter was sent for, he came to Joppa and all the widows showed him “the tunics and garments which Dorcus had made.”(Acts 9:39)

If you could crochet for charity, that is a great reason to learn how to crochet. Each week, I’ll focus on a charity that accepts donations, a free pattern to crochet, or a way for people to get involved to help others with our handcrafts.

Crochet for Charity Spotlight: Knots of Love

What:
“Knots of Love’s primary goal is to brighten the lives of those in need with kindness and love.”

Who:
Christine Fabiani began KOL a little over five years ago. To date, KOL has donated 142,389 chemo caps to medical institutions across the county. They do this with people donating handmade hats. On the KOL website they offer a variety of free hat patterns, lists of approved yarns that will be soft enough for the recipients, and locations in many states to drop off your donations.

Why:
I have a personal connection. One of my little friends, Jason who is 6, has to continue his fight with cancer and go through another round of chemo and then have a bone marrow transplant. He wasn’t able to start kindergarten this year and it looks like going to school might not be accessible to him next year either. He loves SpongeBob, so I crocheted him a SpongeBob chemo cap.

How:
In his honor, I’d love to be able to donate 60 chemo caps to KOL. Will you help me? Let me know in my poll. Tweet this to help reach my goal #60caps4Jason.

“She extends her hand to the poor, yes, she reaches out her hands to the needy. “ Proverbs 31:20
So let’s get those hooks moving, ladies!

8 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Pepper
    Jan 22, 2013 @ 16:32:55

    This sounds like a great charity! Thank you for sharing. If I make a cap I will be sure to let you know!!

    Reply

  2. Sara - momwithahook (@momwithahook)
    Jan 22, 2013 @ 16:39:22

    KOL sounds like a great charity. Love your idea of highlighting one charity each week. Tabitha is such a wonderful name – it was a name we chose for one of our babies.

    Reply

    • milahshandcrafts
      Jan 22, 2013 @ 19:18:31

      It really is and unfortunatly (bad cancer), a very needed charity. I think I got what you were talking about on your blog this morning. I revised my post once I had used Google to kind my Keywords!

      Reply

  3. Trackback: Wednesday WIP « Milah's Handcrafts
  4. ZaMarah
    Jan 29, 2013 @ 09:49:05

    I dont know how I missed this post, but I did ( sad face).
    This is a wonderful idea Michelle!!
    I’m in!

    Reply

  5. Trackback: Crochet Charity – 5 Tips Helpful Tips « Milah's Handcrafts

Leave a Reply

Diary of a MadMama

Refashioning a Method to the Madness of Life

ReFashionista

Creating now.

Terras Kreativecke

Alles selbstgemacht

Family Bugs Blogging

How To Sell Crochet and Other Crafts

crochetandyarn

For hook and fibre lovers

Designs by Hebrew Hands

Crochet Blog, Techniques and Tutorials

Kittens with Mittens

Just another WordPress.com site

Canaconda Tales

Named in honor of the "Canacondas" from my five year old's imaginations this is a place to tell the tales of our life

