Crochet Devo #4

crochet devoI wanted to make a pig. Don’t ask me why, it was probably because I had a lot of pink yarn left after making baby blankets. But for whatever the reason, I wanted to make a pig. She was going to be super cute and I had her all planned out in my mind right down to her name: Pinkie T Pig.

I started and got as far as her head when I realized it just wasn’t working. I got a major case of Give Up. Have you ever had one of those moments of self-doubt? What more could I possibly offer to the crochet world? There are tons of people who crochet better, write better, blog better than I do; so what in the world did I have to offer?

Finally I found a great article, How to Become an Expert by Abby Glassenberg on her blog and it totally changed my outlook. In the article, she talked about a time when she was having a difficult time trying to create one of her stuffed toys. She too wanted to give up, but she kept trying.

I needed to read what Abby had to say about not giving up even when design attempt after attempt doesn’t work. Life, or crochet design, isn’t supposed to be easy but if we want the crown, we have to keep fighting the good fight and not giving up.

“I have fought the good fight, I have finished the race, I have kept the faith.” 2 Timothy 4:7 Paul had many times in his life where things were not going his way: jail, shipwrecks but he kept going. He didn’t give up.

Last month, my grandmother passed away. She was 99 and 323 days old when she died. Mama raised my sister and I after our mother died. Mama was a very strong woman who sole purpose in life was to take care and love those around her. She willed herself to keep fighting and keep trying even after being given 3 months to live back in 1957 when the doctor diagnosed her with breast cancer. Mama told the doctor that she had people to take care of and that wasn’t going to work for her.

One of her favorite poems was Keep Your Grit by L.E Thayer

Hang on! Cling on! No Matter what they say,
Push on! Sing on! Things will come your way;
Sitting down and whining never help a bit,
Best way to get there is by keeping up your grit.
Don’t give up hoping when the ship goes down,
Grab a spar of something— Just refuse to drown;
Don’t think you’re dying just because you’re hit,
Smile in the face of danger and hang on to your grit.
Folks die too easy— they sort of fade away,
Make a little error and give up in dismay;
Kind of man that’s needed is the man of ready wit
To laugh at pain and trouble and keep his grit.

Do you ever want to give up? Well, one of the things I learned from crochet and trying to learn how to design is that even though I will have moments of doubt, I can’t give up.

This week, I’m finishing my pig! 🙂 What are you thinking about crocheting this week? Check out my girl’s ZaMarah’s Maybe Monday blog post and post what you’re thinking about crocheting

8 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. ZaMarah (@HebrewHands)
    Jan 28, 2013 @ 13:15:27

    You know I look forward to Motivational Monday!
    And yes, just over the weekend, I got so busy, I wanted to give up on this blogging thing again! But, I decided, NOPE, not gonna do that! I am going to be successful with my blog if its the last thing I Do!

    Reply

  2. Momwithahook- Sara
    Jan 28, 2013 @ 17:46:02

    Michelle, you have me in tears. What a great woman your grandmother was. You are blessed to have known such a strong woman.
    You are so right – crochet teaches us perseverance, to not give up. Thank you for these little devotions with a crochet bent. I appreciate you.

    Reply

  3. ZaMarah (@HebrewHands)
    Jan 28, 2013 @ 18:07:15

    And Thanks for Stopping by Maybe Mondaaaay!!!

    Reply

  4. Trackback: WIP Wednesday « Milah's Handcrafts

Leave a Reply

Diary of a MadMama

Refashioning a Method to the Madness of Life

ReFashionista

Creating now.

Terras Kreativecke

Alles selbstgemacht

Family Bugs Blogging

How To Sell Crochet and Other Crafts

crochetandyarn

For hook and fibre lovers

Designs by Hebrew Hands

Crochet Blog, Techniques and Tutorials

Kittens with Mittens

Just another WordPress.com site

Canaconda Tales

Named in honor of the "Canacondas" from my five year old's imaginations this is a place to tell the tales of our life

