Brr, It’s Cold Outside

WUAliberty150x215It’s been cold lately across the country. Here in southern Virginia temperatures dropped down into the teens and I know farther up north temps were below zero in many places. As I was going out to drop off my hubby one morning, I hated the bitter cold. But it made me think: what about those people who were homeless?
I was outside for maybe twenty minutes; I couldn’t imagine huddling outside all night or in a shelter with little to protect me from the cold.

What:
This week for Tabatha Tuesday, I’m focusing on a foundation that’s mission is:”motivating, training and coordinating volunteers to knit and crochet afghans and clothing for people in need.”

Who:
According to their website, Warm Up America , has been around since 1991 and began in Wisconsin. A group of women began crocheting and knitting items for those in their neighborhood who were in need. Sounds a lot like Tabitha from Acts9:39, right?

How:
Have some extra yarn? Want to practice a new stitch? Volunteers are asked to donate their time to crochet and knit a 7″ x 9″ rectangle that will be combined with other donated squares to make afghans and lap blankets. The website has directions on how to complete your crochet square.

Why:
Matthew 25: 36- 40. I was naked and you clothed Me; I was sick and you visited Me; I was in prison and you came to Me.’ “Then the righteous will answer Him, saying, ‘Lord, when did we see You hungry and feed You, or thirsty and give You drink? 38 When did we see You a stranger and take You in, or naked and clothe You? Or when did we see You sick, or in prison, and come to You?’ And the King will answer and say to them, ‘Assuredly, I say to you, inasmuch as you did it to one of the least of these My brethren, you did it to Me.’

This has always been one of my favorite passages from the Bible, What will you do for the least of these?

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. ZaMarah
    Jan 29, 2013 @ 12:31:19

    Loving Tabitha Tuesday!
    Keep up the good Work!
    I have to my part, so I’ll definitely be looking into donating my square.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Diary of a MadMama

Refashioning a Method to the Madness of Life

ReFashionista

Creating now.

Terras Kreativecke

Alles selbstgemacht

Family Bugs Blogging

How To Sell Crochet and Other Crafts

crochetandyarn

For hook and fibre lovers

Designs by Hebrew Hands

Crochet Blog, Techniques and Tutorials

Kittens with Mittens

Just another WordPress.com site

Canaconda Tales

Named in honor of the "Canacondas" from my five year old's imaginations this is a place to tell the tales of our life

