I’m Building Me a Home

crochet devoProverbs 14:1 tells us that a wise woman builds her house, while a foolish woman tears it down. That is one of my favorite passages. I’m building a house. Well, I’m building a crochet business which is sort of like a house. I’ve been working my craft more as a hobby but I want to make the transition. And as always and in all things, God’s Word has great advice for me to follow.

Romans 12: 8, 11, 12. Having then gifts differing according to the grace that is given to us, let us use them: if prophecy, let us prophesy in proportion to our faith; 7 or ministry, let us use it in our ministering; he who teaches, in teaching;…not lagging in diligence, fervent in spirit, serving the Lord; 12 rejoicing in hope, patient in tribulation, continuing steadfastly in prayer;

• My gift is crochet, so I must crochet.
• I need to work hard.
• I need to use my skill to serve the Lord.
• It might not always be easy, but I have hope that it will all turn out.
• Patience is something that will have to be worked on. Riding out the hard times, knowing that I’m going to come out stronger on the other end.
• Constantly keeping in touch with God to help guide and direct my path.

I found (well Sara posted it on her Facebook page) a blog about 31 Days to Prepare for My First Crafts Show. I read it yesterday and really enjoyed the idea and since being in a craft show is one of my goals I set for myself this year, it really hit home. See, God’s hand at work! I think I’m going to be doing a 31 day journey myself. Any takers?

So what about you, how are your house plans coming along? How is your crochet business taking off?

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. ZaMarah
    Feb 18, 2013 @ 13:34:10

    Hey Michelle,
    I have been MIA, we’ve had a busy and under the weather household this past week. But I’m back !! This week I’m actually sitting down to review my blueprints for my crochet house. I’m going to work on my business plan, and continue with my CBN certification. My business hasn’t taken off yet, but I am so not worried! I know I have more work to put in, and so I’ll be patient. I am going to have to pass on the 31 Day Journey, ( sad face) only because I want to really get down to business with my goals from Sara’s challenge. But I know you’re going to handle your business!! LOL
    Have fun and “IN”joy the challenge…
    Z.

    Reply

    • milahshandcrafts
      Feb 18, 2013 @ 13:56:36

      ZaMarah, I’m so glad you’re feeling better and back up on your feet! I can’t wait to see what plans you have for your house. I learn so much from you and I look forward to watching us BOTH grow in our house building skills!

      Reply

  2. mollyeleen
    Feb 18, 2013 @ 23:40:05

    Thank you for the 31 day mention! I do hope you are successful with your first craft show.

    Reply

  3. Sara - momwithahook (@momwithahook)
    Feb 19, 2013 @ 17:57:48

    When I found Molly’s 31 day challenge last year I knew I was going to blog about it. Sadly my experience with craft shows is not that great. I don’t mind trying again. I think the show is important. Also, I wasn’t selling crochet specifically during that time. Good luck in building your house. (love the analogy)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Diary of a MadMama

Refashioning a Method to the Madness of Life

ReFashionista

Creating now.

Terras Kreativecke

Alles selbstgemacht

Family Bugs Blogging

How To Sell Crochet and Other Crafts

crochetandyarn

For hook and fibre lovers

Designs by Hebrew Hands

Crochet Blog, Techniques and Tutorials

Kittens with Mittens

Just another WordPress.com site

Canaconda Tales

Named in honor of the "Canacondas" from my five year old's imaginations this is a place to tell the tales of our life

