Day 3- Inventory and WIPs

31 days to crafts showHappy WIP Wednesday! Today, I’m also working on my 31 Days to prepare for a craft show. On day three of Molly’s 31 Days she discussed how much inventory would she have to bring (and make) for her first crafts show. Well, I think that ties in to my WIPs.

I finished my Tusican Enterlac and I don’t have anything else pending so now is the time to begin making my inventory.
enterlac blanket

But how much to make? What should I focus on making? Where do I begin? Yes, I needed to take a breath!

Molly listed the things she was going to sell in her post, so that’s where could start.

Baby hats , Baby booties , Baby sweater
Dolls , Doll clothes , Adult hats
Softies , Patterns , Crochet key chains
Hair accessories , Flip flop charms , Purses
Blankets , Tote bags , Shoes
Crochet doll food

All these things could work, but depending on which craft fair I plan to enter will really help me focus on which items to focus my attention on.

This week, I’ve began working on…

I love this hat. I used Red Heart Baby love in lilac and green. The butterfly came out well. I want to do a tutorial on it.
baby hat and booties

This will be attached to a hair clip. One thing I kept seeing on boards and posts, is that hair do-dads for girls sell well. I used embroidery floss! I was a bit skeptical as to how it would work, but it wasn’t that difficult.

hair bow

I found a post that said, as a rule of thumb, you should bring 10x the amount of the cost of the booth worth of inventory. FOr example, if the booth cost $100, 10 x 100= $1000 worth of product. I’ve got a lot of work to get done.

If you want to see what other’s are working on, check out Tami Amis’ blog:

tami_wip

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. ZaMarah
    Feb 20, 2013 @ 12:29:17

    Aww go on with your bad self!!
    Work your hook girl!! Work iiiit…lol
    All your projects are beautiful, and I know I’ll be back to go through you archives for this challenge. Although I’m not participating in any craft shows right now, I know eventually I will and I already have my resource connection on preparation YOU!!
    Keep up the good work!!
    Shalam…
    Z.

    Reply

  2. katie metzroth
    Feb 20, 2013 @ 13:49:32

    That blanket is ah-mazing. good luck with your hooking!

    Reply

  3. Michelle
    Feb 20, 2013 @ 16:21:06

    Ooo! All the suggestions for possible items to sell are really great. I especially like the idea of the little hair accessories. I think they’re usually big attention getters, and they require minimal effort with maximum return.

    Reply

  4. crochetinspired
    Feb 20, 2013 @ 20:18:33

    Goodness you are going to be one busy girl!
    Thanks for taking the time to Link-Up at Crochet Happy 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Diary of a MadMama

Refashioning a Method to the Madness of Life

ReFashionista

Creating now.

Terras Kreativecke

Alles selbstgemacht

Family Bugs Blogging

How To Sell Crochet and Other Crafts

crochetandyarn

For hook and fibre lovers

Designs by Hebrew Hands

Crochet Blog, Techniques and Tutorials

Kittens with Mittens

Just another WordPress.com site

Canaconda Tales

Named in honor of the "Canacondas" from my five year old's imaginations this is a place to tell the tales of our life

