Finished Friday- Day 5

31 days to crafts show

Happy Friday!

Here’s an update on my progress so far for my inventory.

One completed pig! This is my first (well the first one I have the guts to show of a stuffie that I created. I think Pinkie T Pig came out all right.

IMAG0463

I finished off the hair clips.

IMAG0462

I loved this pattern, Sara had posted it on her 31 Days to a Craft show and it was exactly what I was looking for.

IMAG0461

On Molly’s day 5, she offered a tip. Well I don’t have a tip about doing the craft but I do have a tip about pricing. I am by no means an expert. I undersell myself a lot. But it’s a learning process. So here’s what I’ve learned.

The only way a business, any business can survive is to make money: a profit. And the only way I can make a profit is if what I sell an item for is greater than what it cost for me to make it.

Let’s take my hair clips for example. Those are my Unit. I used the following supplies to make the clips: floss ($0.70), clip ($0.16) and glue (maybe for the dab of hot glue- $0.02). To find out how much it cost to make the clip I’d add the cost of the supplies.

0.70+ 0.16 + 0.02= $0.88

So, to make both clips, it cost me 88 cents. But there was more to making those clips: my time. Labor costs need to be factored in and this is where I always have a problem. Insert issues of self-worth 🙂 How much is my time/labor worth? How much would I like to be paid for crocheting? I’m going to say $3.00 an hour. No, I’m not trying to run a sweat shop but I also don’t want to out price myself so my business doesn’t make a profit.

So we have $0.88 + $1.50 (it only took me 30 minutes to make both.) The total cost of one unit is $2.38. I would have to sell these clips for more than $2.38 in order to make a profit.

There are other things to factor in, like overhead and the cost of running a business, like: the cost of the booth rental, the space I use in my house, business cards, packaging supplies! But for now, I’m not going to factor those things in. At least I know what it costs to make my hair clips.

I hope this was sort of helpful. How do you factor your price points?

M

Leave a Reply

Diary of a MadMama

Refashioning a Method to the Madness of Life

ReFashionista

Creating now.

Terras Kreativecke

Alles selbstgemacht

Family Bugs Blogging

How To Sell Crochet and Other Crafts

crochetandyarn

For hook and fibre lovers

Designs by Hebrew Hands

Crochet Blog, Techniques and Tutorials

Kittens with Mittens

Just another WordPress.com site

Canaconda Tales

Named in honor of the "Canacondas" from my five year old's imaginations this is a place to tell the tales of our life

